04
Nov
05

Clear Skies

Tonight, during a break while I was working on my drawing assignment for tomorrow, I took out the trash and noticed that the sky was clear. Since there’s a utility/street light that lights up the parking lot I went out on the deck on the opposite side of the house to do a bit of stargazing. The sky is about as dark as it is out at Calkins, which is really nice. In the time I was looking, I noticed 3 meteors streak across the sky. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that many in a single sitting. Due to their location, they are probably the precursors to the Taurids meteor shower that peaks Saturday morning (Nov. 5).

A couple of useful star watching resources:
Skymaps.com – publication quality PDF skymap
YourSky – handy to show a map for the current sky

0 Responses to “Clear Skies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

