12
Mar
06

Gibsonia Evening Services

Beginning last week, the Reformed Presbyterian Church of North Hills began holding evening services at the Gibsonia Study Center (where I’m staying). While I didn’t count, I’m guessing about 25-30 have attended both last week and this evening. As I understand it, the hope is to organize as a full-fledged church within a couple years. Pastor Harry Metzger has preached these last two services but Pastor Martin Blocki and Dr. Wayne Spear will each be sharing the load. They have put together a one-year plan to preach through the interactions Jesus had with people. Tonight was from John 1:35-51 about Nathaniel and his coming to Jesus.

The format is slightly more informal than some evening services, but I think it may be for the better in this situation. After the preaching, he opens the floor for questions/comments/testimony in relation to the sermon. Then he takes prayer requests, we pray for them and finish by singing several favorite/related Psalms. Basically.

I’ve designed the flyer for the four week class that Dr. Spear will be teaching on eschatology. It may not be the absolute best ever, but it should work. I probably spent too much time on it, but I think it was a good exercise to get back to doing more DTP. I’ve found this useful program that lets me keep track of time spent on projects called Timelog. According to its records, I spent about 4.5 hours on the flyer. It is probably more like 5, but close enough. This will help me in better estimating costs for projects I might do for other people. Here’s what it looks like:

2 Responses to “Gibsonia Evening Services”


  1. March 12, 2006 at 23:46

    Sounds like a good idea, especially for such a new group. It’s wonderful to see the expansion of the kingdom of Christ!

  2. March 13, 2006 at 15:47

    I’ll be praying that God will bless these services!


Leave a Reply

