15
Mar
06

Angels and Demons

Okay. So I went to the library today to return the stuff I had checked out that was overdue (as mentioned in the previous post). I spent too long wandering the library looking for some book that looked interesting. I finally decided on Angels & Demons by Dan Brown. I’ve been wanting to read it ever since I read The DaVinci Code and listened to Deception Point on CD (both by Dan Brown). It had been recommended by a couple of my friends from the Museum.

It is definitely one that you can’t put down…at least I couldn’t. =) I started reading it while I was making dinner and kept at it till about an hour ago. I really should have been working on stuff for school. 570 pages in four-and-one-half hours. Not bad. Still, I have more to be doing.

Angels & Demons is about Robert Langdon, the same symbologist protagonist found in The DaVinci Code. I noticed that Brown likes to send his characters on really fast trips. Here Langdon is taken by an X-33 jet to visit CERN in Geneva, Switzerland…an hour trip at Mach 15. =) (In Deception Point, Rachel Sexton takes a quick trip to the Arctic in an F-14.) Apparently, the Pope has died and the Illuminati are back from being hidden for a long dime and have put into action a plan to disable the Church by destroying the Vatican with antimatter. It’s a fast-paced, frantic search to follow the clues to where the antimatter trap is located and in the process attempt to save the four cardinals who are the most promising to become Pope.

I’m not really so happy with Brown’s general dislike of Christianity, but I find it facinating to learn how much details and research he has put into his books. I think it is an indication of the idea that artists (visual, musical and literary) tend to be in touch where things either really are or will be soon. The calligraphic illustrations used are quite ingenious. All in all, the book seems well done and formulaic enough to work for a film even. We shall see.

2 Responses to “Angels and Demons”


  1. March 15, 2006 at 16:11

    For me, nearly every fiction book is a challenge to put down. Especially fantasy, mystery, and action. I love reading but I have to be careful when I check a book out at the library!

  2. March 16, 2006 at 18:59

    I was confusing Dan Brown with Tim LaHaye 🙂


Leave a Reply

