25
Mar
06

Travel and Men’s Retreat

Okay, so today was a long day. I headed home for my first day of break, but before I could leave I had a few loose ends to take care of. First, make sure things were cleaned up and I had things packed to go. Next, once I finally got all ready to go, I needed to stop at the library to return a DVD that would be due tomorrow and get a book on CD to listen to, get some oil for my car and stop by school to pick up my flash drive (as I’d left it at school yesterday). Instead of being gone by 10am when I really wanted to, I finally left Pittsburgh about 1:30. The drive wasn’t too bad, even though it was fairly gloomy out and occasionally spit rain/snow. I passed one fairly significant accident, but it was on the other side of the highway, so it didn’t effect my travel much except for a bit of slowing due to gawking. I even tried taking a photo with my cell phone as I passed, but I don’t think it came out at all. As much as I would have liked to stop at home to see the rest of my family before going to the Men’s Retreat, I was going to be fairly late as it was, so I just drove straight there.

I arrived at the FCA camp, where the Men’s Retreat is being held, just a bit after 8pm. Not too bad. Ken Smith is the speaker this year and the topic is our union with Christ. A couple quotes:

Our union with Christ is the most precious, but is simultaneously the least prevalent aspect of our Christian walk

and

Think. You’ll have such little competition.

Tonight, he covered our union in the theological realm…tomorrow he’ll cover a few other categories to address it from different points of view.

3 Responses to “Travel and Men’s Retreat”


  1. March 26, 2006 at 01:34

    Was this a March 25 post? I don’t remember seeing it this morning…if it is, it’ll help your score! I’ll presume there’s an error, for now.

  2. March 26, 2006 at 17:19

    Nathaniel, the speaker was the elder Ken Smith.

    Nathan, I think I put the wrong date on it, I’ve fixed it.


Leave a Reply

