27
Mar
06

Back home again…

At the Children’s Museum. =) I went in early-ish today because I wasn’t sure when I was really supposed to be there, and I wanted to make sure I had a chance to watch the new show as well as make sure I could figure out any new equipment. About a week ago, we opened a new show called “Chihuly’s World of Glass” about Dale Chihuly and glass making, particularly in regards with the sculpture that was unveiled about the same time. The sculpture is called Fireworks of Glass. I didn’t get a particularly good look at it today, but I plan to explore it some more tomorrow and probably take some photos (if I remember to bring a camera).

The new show uses some new and cool equipment. We got 2 new video projectors, an Alesis hard-drive recorder, 6 neat special effects lights and a computer to control them. Since they were still getting things installed on the Friday before opening, the new stuff isn’t really connected to the existing equipment so it could be used in new shows. I don’t think it will be too difficult, and I’m going to see what I can do to encourage them to get it set up that way. If things get integrated, we should be able to use the hard-drive recorder instead of the ADAT and not have to worry about tapes getting damaged.

I hope I’ll be able to at least say hello to all the people I know at the Museum before I have to go back to school at the end of the week.

4 Responses to “Back home again…”


  1. March 28, 2006 at 06:53

    When I saw the pictures in the newspaper I didn’t think the glass looked so very great. I mean it looked ok, and I know it took a long time to make and everything, I just don’t think that’s what I would have chosen to put in the museum.

  2. March 28, 2006 at 10:23

    Sure the sculpture is modern and abstract in design. I’m pretty sure that this piece is the current museum President’s “sacred cow” at the moment. However, it seems to be accomplishing one of the goals of the Museum: family learning. That is, families come to visit the Museum together, learn as a group and then take that learning home to talk about.

    I agree that I would probably have selected something else, possibly an old Mercury-Redstone rocket booster (I heard a rumor that one had been suggested at one time in the past). Now that would be cool.

  3. March 29, 2006 at 00:25

    I would like to see some more pictures of it. It seems cool. Perhaps more fun to make than to look at though :-).

  4. March 29, 2006 at 02:11

    Although it may be modern and abstract, I think it adds a colorful flair to the museum. Yes, there could be something more impressive (a historical object such as the one Michael mentioned, maybe), but it’s better than whatever temporary exhibits they had in place previously.

    For those who have no clue what this sculpture is, here’s a pic: http://www.childrensmuseum.org/themuseum/fireworks_ofglass/images/overview/ChihulyTowerOverview.jpg

    I’m sure Michael will have better pics soon!


Leave a Reply

