21
Oct
06

Comet Streaks

I woke up about 4am remembering I needed to post something for my online class. After completing my posts, I also recalled that this morning was to be the peak time for the Orionids meteor shower.

Went out on my back porch and watched Orion for about a half hour. During that time I counted about 9 or 10 meteors. Way more at one time than I’ve seen in the past. It was really amazing. I’d also read about Comet Swan which should have been in about the same vicinity, but I didn’t notice it. Perhaps because I don’t have a telescope and I didn’t bring my binoculars out with me. Plus, I didn’t know exactly where to look.

Perhaps next meteor shower I’ll figure out a way to turn out the security light and have a bit less direct light pollution.

0 Responses to “Comet Streaks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

