04
Nov
07

And Now Is The Time When I Complain About…

…the biannual fussing with the clocks. I’m not really one to complain much, but this having to move clocks back and forth has so much uselessness to it. Most of my issue with this comes from my growing up in Indiana, which until last year, did not observe Daylight Saving Time. Really. You didn’t know that? Well, Arizona and Hawaii are currently the last states who don’t do DST. I keep threatening to move to one or the other, because DST is such a hassle.

I say keep it simple and stay in the timezone you belong. None of this jumping back and forth because it “keeps kids safer going to school” or “saves energy” or whatever. Well, if kids went to school at home you wouldn’t have to worry about them getting on the bus. And I really doubt that much ‘energy’ is saved, despite various reports that support it.

Last night I stayed up till 2:00, just to be sure I got the clocks headed the right direction. And I only really knew for sure because my computers switched. My cell phone, which you would think stays on top of the time, had to be shut off and turned back on again to get it to show the right time. Fortunately my watch is easy to move back, but my alarm clock and the clock in my car I have to loop all the way around to get right (still haven’t switched my car yet). I’m glad I don’t have any other clocks, cause I’m sure I’d miss one or two. At least I don’t have to deal with this silly mess again until Spring.

2 Responses to “And Now Is The Time When I Complain About…”


  1. November 4, 2007 at 22:58

    Haha! I didn’t know about not having DST in Indiana! Hmm. It is a hassle, you are so right. BUT! That extra hour did worlds for me last night. I’m not sure why, but I really needed it.


Leave a Reply

