10
Nov
07

Stranger Than Fiction

As part of the college retreat I’m attending (Yes, I know I’m graduated…but only just), we watched the film Stranger Than Fiction. It’s a story about how a set-in-his-ways IRS agent begins to hear this voice that narrates things he is doing, and what he does with his life when he finds out that is to die imminently. Probably the first Will Ferrell movie I have watched that I’d even consider buying (besides Elf, which I’d only get because Zooey Deschanel is in it). Partly because of the way cool motion graphics throughout and in the end credits (which I didn’t get to see all of) and partly due to the movie’s commentary on how we live our lives.

One thing I try to do when watching a movie is to look at it with an eye for trying to understand it’s meaning and what it is telling the viewer. In our fairly lively discussion after the end, we covered topics from relationships to life purpose. It was a great time of thinking over what the filmmaker and writer were trying to tell us.

I’d have to say that this one in on my “to get if I find it for really cheap at Half Price Books” list. It wasn’t that bad at all.

1 Response to “Stranger Than Fiction”


  1. November 11, 2007 at 16:18

    I liked this movie, but really only after I watched it a second time.

    I really enjoyed the feel of it. It was so clean and shiny. And soft, somewhat.


Leave a Reply

