13
Nov
07

The Hero and The Crown & The Blue Sword

I was having trouble thinking what to write about today, so I’m going to do a short review of the last two books I’ve read. One of my lists to accomplish is to read all the Newbery Award winning books. I’m about a quarter of the way through, but I think I’ve probably read more than I have checked off. Just want to be sure that I’ve read them so I may end up reading them again, but no problem, they’re all good books.

The Hero and The Crown by Robin McKinley was the Newbery Award winner for 1985. Set in a medieval country, it is the story of the king’s daughter Aerin growing up and finding a place for herself. She becomes known as the “Dragon-killer” because she researched/found an herbal salve that protected from fire.

A few hundred years later, The Blue Sword tells about an ‘Outlander’ girl named Harry who is kidnapped by the hill people. She is trained to ride the purebred horses of the hill in the same style (no bridle) that Aerin invented and how to fight. Winning the combat trials that determine the best upcoming young men and women puts her on the inside track even more than before. But she doesn’t understand why. There’s a connection to Aerin that Harry doesn’t understand, but eventually Harry is given the magical blue sword that Aerin used.

Both women end up saving their people from the invading Northerners and marrying the king. As relatively light reading, I could certainly see both of these be made into movies. Just enough information to be able to follow the story properly without having to skip too much. Also, with strong women as heroines, could also attract filmmakers.

I thought I’d read both of these before, but now that I’ve finished them, I’m certain I had. That’s okay. They’re good books. Now on to read Neil Gaiman’s Stardust (which the recent movie was made from).

That’s another of my ‘things’…if at all possible, I have to read the book the movie is made from first. I’m looking forward to The Golden Compass coming out in December (though I still think they should have kept the name alethiometer).

1 Response to “The Hero and The Crown & The Blue Sword”


  1. November 16, 2007 at 14:51

    I’m a bit of a Robin McKinley fan so I enjoyed both of the books. Espcially the Blue Sword.
    As for Stardust, I preferred the movie to the book. Perhaps its because I saw the movie first, but, I liked the theme in the movie better than the book’s. The book is pretty good too though.


Leave a Reply

