17
Nov
07

The Other Boleyn Girl

The Other Boleyn Girl PosterSomeone Dugg a link to the trailer for The Other Boleyn Girl yesterday, so I figured I’d watch it, just to see. I’ve heard good things about the book and when I saw that a movie is coming out based on the book by Philippa Gregory, I was intrigued. On average, movies based on books tend to be a bit better story-wise as the book is the guide (LOTR, Harry Potter, etc.). Plus, the moviemaker can sort of assume that a good portion of the audience might have actually read the book and so wouldn’t have to show everything because they would know what happens.

From the trailer, it appears as if it is probably fairly faithful to the story (which in turn is relatively faithful to historical events, as I understand it). Anne and Mary Boleyn are played by Natalie Portman and Scarlett Johansson, with Eric Bana playing King Henry VIII. I’ve seen all three of these actors in other films and have been suitably impressed with them. The poster is pretty sharp design: tells a lot of how the story goes. This should be a good movie.

As the film is scheduled to open 2/29/2008, I guess I have until the end of February to find and read the book. =) Anyone want to plan to watch it with me?

2 Responses to “The Other Boleyn Girl”


  1. November 18, 2007 at 01:05

    You just made my night. I had no idea that a trailer was leaked, or even that the film was coming out anytime soon.

    I read the book as soon as it was released, and it sort of rejuvenated my interest in Tudor history, even though I’ve always been somewhat obsessed. This book in particular is quite fictionalized, based on Phillipa’s opinion of the emotional reactions of the characters she portrays. Of course, there are a lot of things that people still aren’t completely sure about based on that time period. I do love this series.

    My next favorite, after this one, is The Constant Princess.

    Anne Boleyn was alway my favorite wife, which I guess was obvious with my Halloween costume this year.

  2. November 18, 2007 at 14:34

    Glad I could make your evening. =)


Leave a Reply

