18
Nov
07

Stardust

I really liked Stardust. Almost as much as I like A City in Winter, The Veil of Snows, and Swan Lake by Mark Helprin. I guess I don’t know quite what I was expecting, but for a modern written fantasy/faerie tale, it’s pretty good. I haven’t read any of Neil Gaiman’s work previously, but now I’m going to have to check out his other stuff.

Stardust is about the adventure a young man named Tristan Thorn has while somewhat foolishly venturing into Faerie to bring back a fallen star to his crush. A relatively traditional fantasy, with elves, fairies, witches and the like, Tristan eventually finds his true destiny. Its a basically clean story (I think I might rate it PG-13), but with one sex scene (though not that explicit) and several murders, so it is probably targeted toward adults. I look forward to watching the movie to see how it comes out in comparison (DVD is supposed to be available December 18).

Now on to read Beauty by Robin McKinley.

Leave a Reply

