19
Nov
07

FreeRice.com

FreeRiceLogoJust noticed today a few friends mentioning FreeRice.com in their conversations on Facebook, so I took a look to see what it was. FreeRice is an interesting site that utilizes a sort of English vocabulary quiz with the reward that 10 grains of rice are donated for each correct answer. As you use the site, it gives you easier or harder words based on how well you know the ones you answer. I found that I was getting in the 39-42 range of the ‘vocabulary level’ as I would occasionally run into a word or two I didn’t recognize or answer one incorrectly but know that I missed after I’d clicked.

Since the site’s opening on October 7, 2007, some 2 million grains of rice have been donated (via the money earned from advertising on the site). I found the refreshes for each page to be a bit slow, but that may be my connection. They list the totals of how many grains of rice have been donated each day, so I made a chart to show off how popular it seems to have become. In my 15-20 minutes of using the site I’d donated 1000 grains of rice.

FreeRice Chart

I think the concept works because it’s fun, challenging and for a good cause (at least it appears to be).

2 Responses to “FreeRice.com”


  1. November 20, 2007 at 01:42

    This is a cool concept.

    I wonder how much rice 1000 grains really is. Enough to feed a few people?

  2. November 20, 2007 at 13:43

    I did a bit of poking around and found that 1000 grains of rice is about one cup. That would end up being about 3 cups cooked so it’d probably be enough for a couple people for a meal.


Leave a Reply

