29
Nov
07

Outdoor Ice Skating

It’s been a really long time since I’ve been ice skating. But when @wingsfrompye asked on Twitter if anyone was interested in going I said, “Sure!” We’d tried last Tuesday, but noone else seemed interested. Today, it appears that enough others were interested so we went ahead and met up. I arrived about 8:30 as I’d been at a Bible study that ran late, due mostly to the battery in the minivan I’m borrowing from my parents being low enough that it wouldn’t start. I had to run up and see if anyone was left in the office who could help jump the car. Gratefully, there was, so I was able to get it started right away. I also misjudged how long it would take to get there (something I’m still working on here in Pittsburgh).

Met up with the group at the outdoor skating rink in North Park. It was fun trying to get on the ice again, but I have this feeling that I was missing something. My skates weren’t tight enough or something because my feet kept trying to tilt to one side instead of staying more straight up and down. Plus the surface didn’t seem that smooth. Maybe that’s because it was the end of the day and the rink is outside. Oh well, I had fun anyway and I didn’t fall down once (I did lose my balance a bit and had my hands on the ice, but got back up).

1 Response to “Outdoor Ice Skating”


  1. November 29, 2007 at 23:23

    Good for you for getting out there! Excellent exercise, and lovely to rediscover something you hadn’t done in some time. wish i could have been there.


Leave a Reply

