01
Mar
08

Chihuly At Phipps Conservatory

Last Saturday, I visited the Phipps Conservatory here in Pittsburgh to explore the Chihuly installation before it was due to close on Sunday. I especially wanted to avoid missing the show because of the Chihuly piece at The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis. Since the Conservatory highly encourages photography, I took lots of pictures. A total of three hundred sixty-five — just 150 short of filling the card on my camera.

Enjoy! I did.

Palm room

Illuminated Leaf

Herb room

Glass balls

Red & Blue glass

East Room Pan

2 Responses to “Chihuly At Phipps Conservatory”


  1. March 1, 2008 at 09:50

    Great photos! I’ve seen this exhibit twice as well as Chihuly’s ceiling installation at the Bellagio in Vegas. Stunning work. I’m glad he’s been able to showcase his art worldwide. Most of the pieces at Phipps were created in the 1970’s and you can see that in the colors of some of them. The deep purples and yellows give off an energy that is unexplainable.

  2. March 8, 2008 at 21:05

    Now I think I might not post my pictures to my site… these are beautiful! I’m looking for another image to go I my header for my site, and I might just see if you’d give me permission to use that last pic… it was my favorite room and installation, by far! I’m working on snapping some stained glass pictures and trying to photoshop them in fun, interesting ways, but if that doesn’t work, expect an email. 😉


Leave a Reply

