05
Mar
08

Just Out: IE8 Beta 1

IE8 Beta 1Today at Mix, Microsoft announced the availability of Internet Explorer 8 Beta 1. So, since I’m a web developer (and not because I use Internet Explorer…I stay as far away as possible) I downloaded the IE8 Virtual PC disk image. IE8 is supposed to default to its most standards compliant rendering mode. If you want it to work like older versions, you can add in some meta information to tell it so.

I tried it out on several sites that I’ve worked on in the past and found various small layout and alignment issues on some of the sites that work just fine in Firefox and Safari. So, I take this to mean that there’s still work to be done on the rendering engine to make it work properly. The UI is basically the same as IE7, though there is a button to tell it to act like IE7. PNGs seem to be properly transparent like in IE7. Javascript doesn’t quite appear to work properly or at minimum a couple sites I know use JQuery didn’t function the way they were supposed to. Didn’t crash when I was using it, and installing Flash worked fine.

At this point, I’ll keep it around to check out various sites to see what happens, but won’t be designing or modifying sites to work (if necessary) until it’s closer to final. [And for those who don’t have it, Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 seems to work fine on my install of XP]

Tags: , , ,

1 Response to “Just Out: IE8 Beta 1”


  1. 1 Woy
    March 8, 2008 at 00:01

    I’ll probably check this out, but like you won’t do anything with it seriously until at least the next rev.


Leave a Reply

