19
Mar
08

Tigger, Tiger

Click to see the full version.

Yesterday was a really long, busy and gloomy day, and for some reason I didn’t quite feel my normal, generally optimistic self. I twittered mid-morning that I was, “Trying to be more Tigger than Eeyore.” A couple friends posted shortly thereafter which encouraged me greatly. =) Tigger is such an energetic and over-the-top happy character that I can’t help but smile when I think of him. I don’t yet own the Tigger Movie, but I’m sure I will some day (I have seen it though).

I’ve collected Tigger and tiger paraphernalia for as long as I can remember. In my room, here, I count six Tigger/tiger things including the plush Tigger in this photo (which I’ve also drawn in the past) and I have many more back home in Indiana.

Growing up in a large family of eight kids means coming up with interesting and practical ways of determining what belongs to whom. My parents assigned each of us a color (red, blue, yellow, green, pink, silver, white, and purple) and an animal (tiger, turtle, monkey, goat, chipmunk, hedgehog, sheep, and owl). I’m pretty sure that these assignments weren’t initially planned, exactly, but they evolved and codified over time. The colors make it relatively simple to determine who’s backpack was sitting on the floor by the door or who to call to tell to pick up a mess of school books.

Likewise, our animals became official as time went along. I was given the tiger, because Mom said I was, “A tiger in her tank.” As I understand it, there were advertisements for Exxon using the slogan, “Put a tiger in your tank.” Ever since then I will get various tiger related things. I have a Tigger pen, a poster of a tiger on my wall and a tiger striped blanket in addition to the many stuffed Tiggers.

0 Responses to “Tigger, Tiger”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

