20
May
08

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

Saturday evening I decided to check out the Prince Caspian movie since I felt the first film was particularly good*. And honestly, it has been many years since I’ve read the book so I can’t properly compare it to the text**. Plus, when I think of Prince Caspian, I think of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader which also stars Prince Caspian and is my favorite of the Narnia series (I’ve probably read it 7-8 times at least).

This is the next logical book in the series to make into a film as it is the next time the four children take a trip to Narnia. While it has only been a couple years for the children, more than a thousand years have passed in Narnia and the country is essentially ruled by the evil Mizar (Prince Caspian’s uncle). They are called to Narnia by the Prince sounding Susan’s horn and arrive in the ruins of their castle Cair Paravel. Eventually they help Prince Caspian defeat his uncle but not before they attempt to handle things on their own, without Aslan’s help.

I believe it was certainly worth watching for at least a matinee ticket price. The movie fit in the same quality and style as the first. So much so that you could probably watch them back to back and not notice much difference. The children seemed to act well to me and as before (I don’t quite understand why) I still connected with Susan who has always been my favorite since I first read the books. But Peter’s attempt to take things into his own hands does seem to be something I would do as a first-born. I really didn’t notice anything wrong with it so I’m putting it on my “to buy” list.

* That means it was worth buying the DVD even after watching it in the theater.

** Though, I stopped at Borders on my way home from work last night, took a quick scan through the book and it does appear that the filmmakers were relatively faithful to the story. Obviously they had to leave various little details out so as not to complicate the film, but overall I think they successfully told C.S. Lewis’ story on screen.

1 Response to “The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian”


  1. May 22, 2008 at 19:34

    haven’t seen Prince Caspian yet but definitely looking forward to it… i’ll have to look over the book one more time just to remind myself how the original story goes


Leave a Reply

