03
Oct
08

Friday 5 — Hacked

Here’s the Friday Five from September 26 since October 3 was MIA until Saturday and I didn’t get to it a week ago.

1. When did someone last break something of yours?
When moving into my current apartment, I had a 2’x4′ mirror that got put sideways in the back seat of my car. In the process of filling the rest of the seat, driving the half mile to the new apartment and unloading, the mirror ended up getting broken. No big deal, it was free to me anyway.
2. When did you last play hackysack, if ever?
Probably a few years ago – tried and failed.
3. What was your most dramatic haircut like?
That would probably have to be what I have now: a ponytail. Until I moved out to Pittsburgh three years ago, I kept it pretty short and simple.
4. Hacking is basically breaking through the security that protects a computer or a website. What’s the closest you’ve come to doing something similar in real life?
Because of what I do, hacking for real is not too far out of the picture. I’ve built several Linux based computers from scratch. For example, just to see if I could do it, I tried to figure out what was necessary to crack a wifi password. Unfortunately, the wireless card I have isn’t able to actively detect traffic so I couldn’t get it to work.
5. In the world of stand-up comedy, a hack is a comic who steals jokes from other comics. Have you ever known a hack in your own field?
To some extent, anyone who is a web designer is a bit of a hack. We look at how other people make their sites and ‘borrow’ what we need to make our site work.
0 Responses to “Friday 5 — Hacked”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

