22
Nov
08

Podcamp PGH Meetup and Blogfest 16

This week, two social media meetups ended up being scheduled almost back to back. The brand new, post-Podcamp Pittsburgh meetup and the much older Blogfest on it’s sixteenth time.

The PCPGH meetup was held at the Firehouse Lounge in the Strip District. It’s a nice spot, though a bit dark so I didn’t take any pictures. Most everyone I expected to see were able to make it, and a good number of other who I’d seen, but not met at Podcamp as well as a one or two who’d I’d met at last Podcamp but weren’t able to make it this year. So that was fun, chatting with various people.

Blogfest is a similar atmosphere, though at the much brighter venue of Finnegan’s Wake on the North Shore. The roads were a bit icy, and Pittsburgh’s Light-up Night was happening simultaneously, so a number of people weren’t able to make it due to traffic, etc. However I counted at one point about 28 attendees, so it was a reasonably good sized crowd. Here’s a few photos from the evening with the rest of them over here.

Apparently, on Jennie and Anthony’s new collaboration blog Bricks and Boxes, there was a poll as to whether Bob Dylan’s Love Minus Zero/No Limit or Jeff Buckley’s rendition of Hallelujah is “the best song ever.” Jennie won and Anthony had to sing Hallelujah at Blogfest. He did a pretty good job and I caught the last couple verses on video:

3 Responses to “Podcamp PGH Meetup and Blogfest 16”


  1. November 23, 2008 at 22:30

    Great to see you again, Mike

    I must say, I’m sure I had to have sounded much better the earlier verses. Thanks for capturing it on video. Would have been a real shame not to have a little proof I got through that painful experience.

    P.S. I’m more embarrassed by my thinning hair creating a glare in that photo. Crap.

  2. November 23, 2008 at 23:38

    Thanks for archiving Anthony’s brave performance and for the great pic of Andre and I!

  3. November 24, 2008 at 08:25

    Nice write-up, Michael.

    I’m impressed that Anthony sang the whole song — it’s a long song. Had it been me, I’d have given something closer to the original Leonard Cohen version.


Leave a Reply

